GameFileForums  

Go Back   GameFileForums > Game Help > Game Help
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30-07-2006
zims zims is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default Need help with civilization IV

Hi i am trying to get a nocd/dvd exe to work with civilization IV. i have tried to install and copied over the existing game exe with the nocd/dvd fix but when i click on the game to play after i get an Entry Point Not Found error that says the procedure entry point _BinkShouldSkip@4 could not be loacated in the dynamic link library binkw32.dll . Any help would be appreciated. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2006
DuffMan DuffMan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,503
Default

Which version of the game are you using and what version No-CD patch are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-08-2006
cha-ching! cha-ching! is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I already have the disk version and have the v1.61 patch. I downloaded no disk v1.61 and clicked on the exe file and got a similar message related to binkw32.dll:
"This application has failed to start because binkw32.dll was not found..."

What does this mean?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-08-2006
kreks kreks is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default

You can get the file from here - http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl....shtml?binkw32 .

Last edited by kreks; 17-08-2006 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-08-2006
cha-ching! cha-ching! is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I have the file, just didn't place the exe file in the correct location--ended up looking for the binkw in the wrong place. But i know where to go now if i ever need these files.
Thanks for the link!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-02-2007
chimpe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hey this is my first time using No CD fixes when i put in the v1.61 file i get this error

Quote:
the procedure entry point _BinkShouldSkip@4 could not be loacated in the dynamic link library binkw32.dll
any help would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-02-2007
Kreks00 Kreks00 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 80
Default

Maybe my link in the previous post helps. Do you have v1.61 installed?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-04-2007
Guardias Guardias is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I'm having the same problem with the "_binksetvolume@12 could not be located in the dynamic link library binkw32.dll" even after downloading the file placed a few posts earlier. I am using the original version of the game I believe, but I'm not quite sure. Its been awhile since i played and i've misplaced my original cd. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-04-2007
Crypton
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Make sure you have the latest DirectX installed (Bink requires DirectDraw) Get it from http://www.microsoft.com/directx

(Note that even though you may hae DX9.0c, there are "Monthly" builds which fix common errors in the DX API.

At the very least, install the DirectX version that was provided on the game disc.

If that fails, browse to the game directory, find the bink32.dll and copy it to

for Win NT, 2000, and XP c:\windows\system32\

For Win9X ME c:\windows\system\

Then try the game again.

Also note that the game will require the Bink32.dll in which it originally came with, if you replaced it with another version, chances are you will still have the issue.

Last edited by Crypton; 30-04-2007 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-08-2007
13cizma 13cizma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Hello, i know its kinnda late to open up this thread, but which of these one's are the true solution? iv'e tried every step on this thread but same thing just happen


the procedure entry point _BinkShouldSkip@4 could not be loacated in the dynamic link library binkw32.dll

or it is either

the procedure entry point _BinkShouldSkip@12 could not be loacated in the dynamic link library binkw32.dll



BTW my version of Civ 4 is 0.21.0.1674


thanks

Last edited by 13cizma; 28-08-2007 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
GameFileForums.com